Two Weeks In Ohio – Part 2

So after the fishing trip, we planned another get-away to the Buckeye State, and another first for me and the fam…

The Ohio Renaissance Festival!

We planned the trip on Thursday before going.  It was on a whim, since we had tickets from work.  A few years ago, I saw an inspirational quote online…Spend your money and efforts acquiring memories, not things.  This is something the really stuck with me!  So instead of buying things that end up on a shelf at home, Sarah and I have really worked on taking our kids to do things, instead of wasting that money on toys that they play with for a few months and never pick up again…OK, so back to the festival.

I had never even thought about going to something like this, but we like to let our kids experience different things.  So we took the 2 1/2 hour trek to Wanyesville, Ohio.  The size of the place was AMAZING!  Close to 40 acres!  I had no idea how big of a deal this was to these people.  Some off the costumes were amazing.

There was everything from sword fighting to axe throwing…yes they will let you throw an axe.  But my favorite had to be the jousting!  Real live jousting on horseback, full armor.  It was crazy!  It is worth the trip just for that!

There were lots of shops selling everything from swords to hand blown glass.  The kids weren’t much into the shopping, but they did enjoy the human powered rides, and the food!

Yes, I ate a turkey leg.  It was gone so fast, there is no photo evidence!

I did get to sit on the throne from Game of Thrones…

All in all, I think my wife and I enjoyed it more than the kids.  And if we would have had more time to look at all the shops we might have stayed longer.  But the kids were ready to get to the hotel so we could go swimming.

Yes, we didn’t make the drive back, because, well…swimming.  My kids are like fish!  They love the water, and so do I!

The next day, we did something just for me!

Yep, that was just for me!

The kids did enjoy looking at the all the animals, and they were even nice enough to stop for 2 seconds so we could get a picture.

After the drive home, we were all ready to just chill out the rest of the that Sunday.  It was a nice get-away before starting another week of My Life In Headphones.

Leave a comment